Life in code, apps and OS's

Installing my new Ubuntu system this evening

Posted on: November 1, 2006

Yesterday I had to replace my router for ADSL as the power supply failed😦

I did try and re-install Ubuntu 6.06 last night but the internet just would not work after two attempts and it getting very late at night I decided to call it a day, so my task for tonight…. Have another go at installing it, with a few modifications to my system though…

I have a spare SATA drive in my other PC (Windows XP Pro) and have a spare SATA Controller in a box somewhere so hopefully I will be able to fish that out and install that in there, Once I have formatted the Drive I will install a fresh copy of Ubuntu (6.06 – The LTS Version… Long Term Support) and this time.. Fingers crossed the NIC (Network Interface Card) will work, If not I will try and install another NIC (Not use the Onboard Controller).

I may also try to make it look like Mac OS there is a wicked document on how to do it here:-

Another problem that I have is Nvidia drivers on my PC, I will need to download them from Nvidia and use the following commands to install them.

Leave a Reply

  • How To Dyndns Ubuntu | Order Goods: […] DynDNS Client Setup on Ubuntu | Life in code, apps and OS’s – May 18, 2008  · 7 Responses to "DynDNS Client Setu
  • lizrandolph10886: Wonderful article! We are linking to this particularly great post on our website.nKeep up the great writing. Click
  • waseem Ahmad: Dear. i have a separate application server and a separate mysql database server. when i want to access the application server to login from the local
