Life in code, apps and OS's

uk.homeunix.org – New site and server.

Posted on: November 3, 2006

Last night I decided that I love Ubuntu so much, That I wanted to install and maintain a Linux web server, I wanted the Dynamic Domain name to be relivent so trying to register one on: http://uk.homeunix.org . I plan to host some forums on the root of the site.  Will prob use vBulletin or Invision Power Board, Not sure what one yet.

 Users who want SSH and personal home directory for wenhosting will be able to fill out a form on the main website that will notify me of the username and password they would like to use, Once submitted I will create the account. Users will then be able to access there homepage at: http://uk.homeunix.org/~usernmae

Users will be able to point any registered domain names to there homepage URL. The good thing about the server is that if anyone needs a true linux enviroment enviroment for development or personal web hosting.

I may also install CVS or SVN for development, As I said I am not sure as yet. The hardware that I will be installing the server on is an AMD box with 1.5GB RAM and SATA drives. The webserver will run on Ubuntu with Apache 2, MySQL 5 and can be accessed remotely only using SSH, I will not be installing FTP as that is less secure than SSH and a nightmare to configure for running at a high speed.

I would really like to create a UK Linux/Unix community using this domain as it is a really good domain name, I personally feel.

Leave a Reply

  • How To Dyndns Ubuntu | Order Goods: […] DynDNS Client Setup on Ubuntu | Life in code, apps and OS’s – May 18, 2008  · 7 Responses to "DynDNS Client Setu
  • lizrandolph10886: Wonderful article! We are linking to this particularly great post on our website.nKeep up the great writing. Click
  • waseem Ahmad: Dear. i have a separate application server and a separate mysql database server. when i want to access the application server to login from the local
