Life in code, apps and OS's

My attempt at installing CVS on uk.homeunix.org

Posted on: November 7, 2006

He’s how it went…

 From my eariler post, I followed it religously but at the first hurdle it failed, It seem like I had a problem with DNS as when I was attempting to install some of the packages using the apt-get command it the console would ‘hang’ while trying to resolve the repository names.

So I did an ifconfig and found that the IP address of the server etc all seemed fine except for on my eth01 (My NIC) it shew a small error (Interrupt:201 Base address: 0x8000). I could not recall how to find the nameservers (DNS Servers) so I quickly took a look on the UbuntuForums.org website and they recommended editing ‘vi /etc/resolv.conf’ and checking the name servers in that file and sure enough it worked, I edited the nameserver and save the changes then restarted the network interfaces. All then worked fine and I then continued to install the CVS server, All is now working fine on the server end, So when I get home this evening (currently at work) I will isntall TortiseCVS and check it out🙂 – I will let you know how I get on!

I can’t wait to check it out!!!

Leave a Reply

  • How To Dyndns Ubuntu | Order Goods: […] DynDNS Client Setup on Ubuntu | Life in code, apps and OS’s – May 18, 2008  · 7 Responses to "DynDNS Client Setu
  • lizrandolph10886: Wonderful article! We are linking to this particularly great post on our website.nKeep up the great writing. Click
  • waseem Ahmad: Dear. i have a separate application server and a separate mysql database server. when i want to access the application server to login from the local
