Life in code, apps and OS's

Linux server @ home and SMTP Settings work around!

Posted on: December 7, 2006

I find that one of the most annoying things when setting up a linux web application server is providing outgoing mail support for sending emails from forums or applications powered by PHP.

I have tried to setup endless MTA’s so that my server will send emails using SMTP, I have now found a way round it that I will check soon and fingers crossed will work. What I plan to do is edit the php.ini file and setup my ISP’s mailserver (smtp.tiscali.co.uk) this should then enable outgoing emails to be sent from my server using the php command mail().

This has yet to be tested however, Another way of setting up an SMTP server is to use Exim, I use Ubuntu server and found this tutorial on how to setup such a system:-

http://my.opera.com/Contrid/blog/show.dml/478684

^ I might actually try to install postfix on my server first actually🙂 – Infact I will do this now (at work) lol!!!

Leave a Reply

  • How To Dyndns Ubuntu | Order Goods: […] DynDNS Client Setup on Ubuntu | Life in code, apps and OS’s – May 18, 2008  · 7 Responses to "DynDNS Client Setu
  • lizrandolph10886: Wonderful article! We are linking to this particularly great post on our website.nKeep up the great writing. Click
  • waseem Ahmad: Dear. i have a separate application server and a separate mysql database server. when i want to access the application server to login from the local
